Cheltenham Festival: A day at the races

The Cheltenham Festival is well-known as the pinnacle event on the horse racing calendar. 

(Photo by Mike Hewitt/Getty Images)

Due to no crowds last year at the festival, there was a feeling of added anticipation as I counted down the days until race week.

The build-up began early as I searched for a suit appropriate for the big occasion, even days before the start of the meeting, you could feel the suspense around the town.

When race day finally approached, the day started with a rammed Wetherspoons at 9am, where we were welcomed with the noise of excitement from fellow festival attendees. 

As you look around, your eyes are swarmed with punters glued to their phones as they eagerly placed their bets for the day. 

The walk to the racecourse shortly after was unique, a walk I had done countless times but never like this.

Each pavement painted with the colour of tweed and flamboyant dresses, in what felt like a never-ending convoy making our way to the races.

Reality kicked in as I nervously reached in my pocket for my ticket, I then heard the all-important beep on the scanner which meant I was ready to make my way to the Tatterstalls stand.

The pungent smell of Guinness struck my senses as I entered the stand, feeling like I was in the streets of Dublin with the number of Irish accents surrounding me. 

The refreshing malty taste of my Guinness helped me calm my nerves as I eagerly placed my bet for the first race of the festival. 

Attempting to take in the atmosphere as the first race approached, I looked around at the 70,000 spectators joining me in this experience, in awe at the sheer size of the crowds. 

As the time came for the opening race, the roar at the racecourse was deafening as the tannoy bellowed the much anticipated ‘and they’re off’. 

(Photo by ADRIAN DENNIS/AFP via Getty Images)

The noise didn’t just halt there, as echoing cheers beckoned from each side of the racecourse as the highly backed Constitution Hill crossed the line to win a lot of people money.

My winnings may not have been as extreme as others next to me, yet that feeling of my first ever Cheltenham festival win was unparalleled.

You could feel the nerves around you when it was time for jockey Rachael Blackmore and Honey Suckle to take centre stage, one of the most backed horses in the entire week.

Just listening to anxious punters around you, it was evident that there was a frightening amount of money on the line for this one.

It felt more like relief than celebration for myself and the majority of the crowd when Honeysuckle arrived at the finishing line to a joyous roar from those who had undoubtedly stuck their mortgage on the horse winning.

Although my betting luck wasn’t as prevalent for the rest of the afternoon’s races, the day did certainly not disappoint.

There’s simply just not any sporting event like it. The Cheltenham Festival.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started